Student Works on Exhibit at Santa Barbara Museum of Art | Arts & Entertainment

Posted on January 28, 2022
| 9:44 am

The Santa Barbara Museum of Art is exhibiting works by 21 local student artists through Feb. 6. The pieces, which include painting, photography and woodwork, are on display in the museum’s Family Resource Center.

The contributing student artists were named winners of the 2022 Scholarship Foundation of Santa Barbara Art Scholarship Competition. Each will receive a college scholarship for the 2022-23 academic year.

This year, 48 student artists competed. Each winner receives a $2,500 scholarship; the best-of-show winner gets an additional $1,000 scholarship. Katherine Hedrick, a senior at Santa Barbara High School, was awarded the Schall Family Best of Show Prize.

“We are very happy to renew our partnership with the Santa Barbara Museum of Art,” said Barbara Robertson, Scholarship Foundation president/CEO. “The work submitted by these talented young artists was consistently strong this year, and we are pleased it will receive a wider audience through this fine exhibit in the SBMA Family Resource Center.”

Each year the Scholarship Foundation invites high school seniors in southern Santa Barbara County to submit a portfolio of original work for its art scholarship competition. A panel of prominent local artists judge the submissions.

In addition to Hedrick, the art scholarship winners are: Eden Andrulaitis (Santa Barbara High School), Josh Brennan (Dos Pueblos High School), Liza Coffin (Providence School), Sarah Collier (Providence School), Gabriella Crisa (San Marcos High School) ), Jackson Ebbin (Santa Barbara High School), Bella Figueroa (Dos Pueblos High School), Abigail Garcia (Dos Pueblos High School), Ailee Gessert-Ma (Dos Pueblos High School), Evan Grant (Dos Pueblos High School), Emma Holmstrom (Carpinteria High School), Preston Mathis (Dos Pueblos High School), Kailani Neyra Wahlberg (Dos Pueblos High School), Ella Noyes (Providence School), Melina Ochoa (Dos Pueblos High School), Diesel Pirman (Dos Pueblos High School) , Katelyn Symons (Dos Pueblos High School), Vicky Tang (Dos Pueblos High School), Jennifer Vazquez Gonzalez (Dos Pueblos High School), and Nansy Velasquez (Carpinteria High School).

Serving as judges were Anthony Askew and Patti Jacquemain. Judging took place Jan. 20 at the Scholarship Foundation. The Santa Barbara Museum of Art exhibit includes one representative work from each winning portfolio.

For more about the Scholarship Foundation of Santa Barbara, visit


About the author

Publishing Team

Leave a Comment